RSS

Randomness

20 Feb

So what do ya’ll think of the new look? I was bored the other night and I couldn’t seem to put any thoughts into words. So instead, I tried fifty new themes until I decided on this one.

Weekend catchup: I helped out with a friend coaching a girls volleyball club for a few hours on Sunday. They have about thirty girls and need some help, I’m going to try to give them some time when I get a chance. I had a lot of fun, even though I imagine I was a bit too quiet for a coach. But hey, it was my first day with the girls.

I played volleyball Sunday night against the first place team. We won one game. This would be more impressive if we hadn’t had three subs for people who couldn’t make it. Thanks Kevin! Anyway I think our subs are probably better than the regular team. I think I’m ready to move back to intermediate level play. I’m getting bored in rec. I really miss playing women’s hardcourt ball. I just can’t seem to get into any of the leagues although I know they must be around.

I have managed for the 14th month in a row to miss and if fact not even read the book for my “live-in person” book group. Argh, I really enjoy that group. I just can’t seem to get there.

We have the most adorable child in creation. He makes this little squeak (kinda like the air being squeezed out of a balloon) when he gets really excited and wants to go after something. I love this sound. He also purrs at you. Instead of yelling when I put him in his snowsuit, he trills his tongue and makes this weird purring noise. He’s hysterical wWhen we get home from school at night and he’s really hungry. I’ll put him down on the floor so I can get my coat and shoes off. He curls up into this ball and cries. Then he’ll crawl slowly toward you like every movement takes all of his energy. All while giving you this look like you’ve stolen away his sunshine. As soon as you put him in the high chair and give him a cracker he’s happy again. I think it’s so funny to watch the slow motion horrified crawl. I may be a horrible mother for thinking that but I always want to take pictures of it.

Anyway, boring week so far, tonight is Jeffrey’s occupational therapy eval. It’s at RIT and then we’re going to get some dinner with dad and head home. Bri is going to stay “as long as he needs to” to get everything finished. It’s the last week of this quarter. I’m praying we’ll make it.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2007 in Family, General

 

4 responses to “Randomness

  1. Kurt

    February 20, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    Coaching, huh? Very cool. I’m sure you’ll whip those girls into shape with your volleyball kung-fu. Even if only an assistant-coach. And it does sound like you need more of a challenge team-wise. Hopefully you can find the right fit soon.

    Fourteen months!? Good grief! I think it’s safe to say the boy has had a hand in that record. I’m picking up my Capote book at the library after work. Couldn’t find a cheap copy in the stores–didn’t feel like $22 for the hardcover or $14 for a trade paper.

    And, yes, you DO have one of the most adorable children in creation. I have to qualify that last sentence with the word “one” since Kellie reads this 🙂

     
  2. Kellie

    February 20, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    We have two of the most adorable children in the universe!! And, they’re cool ’cause they’re Birthday Buddies. AND, they’re MORE cool ’cause they have US for Mommies!! And, ya know…we rock and all that!!

    I’m doing MUCH better with the Capote book than the Dante book. I am only 43 pages into it, but it’s keeping my attention. I’m cheap…I won’t buy the books..I’ll borrow them from the library.

     
  3. Dani

    February 20, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    I haven’t started the Capote book yet but I’m getting there. It’s on my shelf waiting.

     
  4. Happy Working Mom

    February 21, 2007 at 9:02 am

    Good luck with the coaching! And it’s cool that you still play a sport competitively!

    And the baby sounds sound adorable!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
