RSS

Intervention

12 Feb

Hello everyone.

My name is Danielle.

I am addicted to commas.

I know that there are some grammar nazi’s that read my blog and I implore you to forgive my run on sentences. I love language. I adore words but I am atrocious at punctuation. I want you to know that I have entered a sort of rehab. Mary is an English teacher and she has agreed to give me some advice. With her guidance, I am trying to switch to the use of semicolons. I’ll try but I’ve had years of experience with the comma. The comma has been good to me.

Please my friends, forgive my lapses in punctuation. I am but one woman and I’ve taken the first step. I admit that I have a problem. With your help perhaps I can defeat this addiction.

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2007 in satire

 

4 responses to “Intervention

  1. Kellie

    February 13, 2007 at 9:21 am

    You’re funny. I am addicted to this ….. at the end of a sentence. Not sure why. I use semi-colons all the time; like I’m too lazy to end the sentence and it’s just more fun than a period 🙂

     
  2. Sue

    February 19, 2007 at 3:54 pm

    See, I have the same problem.
    Editing your post, I would have added a comma after, “I’ll try” and maybe a few other places.
    Commas rule.

     
  3. Ezra Q. Button

    February 24, 2007 at 6:10 am

    Don’t let the pedants get you down about comma placement, which is more often than not just a question of personal preference anyway.
    Er, um, by the way, you know you shouldn’t have that apostrophe there in the word “nazi’s.” You want the plural form of the word, not the possessive.

     
  4. Dani

    February 25, 2007 at 12:28 am

    Okay so it’s not just comma’s, it is punctuation in general. I may read a lot but obviously only the words! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
