RSS

What’s on the Shelf?

08 Feb

I’ll begin with what’s left over from last post. The Dante Club by Matthew Pearl is still sitting waiting to be perused and finished. I took it home to Pittsburgh for Christmas and I didn’t unpack the bag until last night. So hopefully, it will be finished soon.

New items: The Persuader and The Killing Floor by Lee Child. These book are in a series of books about a former military policeman Jack Reacher. He’s the typical thriller protagonist; handsome, kick-ass, extremely skilled etc. I picked up one of his earlier books at my mom’s place and thought I’d look for more. These books are fast paced page turners. If you enjoy James Patterson I’d recommend these as well.

The thing I like the most about these is that you don’t need to read the series in order. So far everything I’ve read has been out of order and there hasn’t been any confusion. Also as an aside, I’ve heard that Paramount Pictures has optioned the Reacher novels and are considering making a film.

Next up, Baltimore Blues by Laura Lippman. The first book in the Tess Monaghan mystery series. I first heard about this book on NPR’s Diane Rehm show. She interviewed the author and I thought it sounded fairly intriguing. Fast forward a year and I finally got around to buying the book. I haven’t finished it yet, but it’s good so far. Tess is a former newspaper reporter turned detective. She’s not very good but I’ve heard she gets better as she goes along. It’s not a very intense novel which is a nice change from the Child novels.

Last contestant for today is Television Without Pity: 752 Things We Love to Hate (And Hate to Love) About TV by Tara Ariano and Sarah Bunting. I received this as a Christmas gift and it rocks! I started reading Television Without Pity (TWOP) a few years ago. It’s a simple little web site that recaps tv shows. If you miss an episode they have a 10-13 page recap of what happened and then you don’t miss anything. This book is by the creators of TWOP and it’s basically an encyclopedia of tv snark. It’s funny and ever since I found out they had a book, I’ve been lusting for it. Thanks Mom and Dad Meehan!

That’s it for today. I bought a few more (slightly more diverse titles) but haven’t started any of them yet. Hopefully I’ll get to them soon and let you know.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2007 in Books

 

5 responses to “What’s on the Shelf?

  1. Mar

    February 8, 2007 at 3:48 pm

    Good luck with The Dante Club! Personally, I found it painfully slow and it is one of those rare books that I could not finish. It looked great on the shelf and I’m always looking for some good Virgil/Dante/Levels of Hell/classic literature reference to get my teeth around, but to be completely honest, it blows! I just finished Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime and am going to teach it to my 9th graders. Highly reccomend. Also on my snow day on Tuesday I read Hanibal Rising. Not nearly as good as the others but I managed to struggle through it. Next on my list is The Thorn Birds. (Except for Fried Green Tomatoes, Jurassic Park and The Hobbit for school) Time for a little romace. I think you need to do a posting about the “Essential Gray T-Shirt” and we definately need to get together soon. Things are slowing down for me (until Tennis starts in March).

     
  2. Kellie

    February 8, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    Ok….confession time. The Dante Club moved off my printer to next to the computer because it’s DUE BACK AT THE LIBRARY TODAY!! I am still 18 pages into it. I have failed my book club!! Feel free to kick me off! I tried. I really did. I was ready to read, wanted to read, could NOT get into it. I’m sorry. 😦

     
  3. Dani

    February 8, 2007 at 10:13 pm

    I’m nearing the point of picking a new book. I just don’t have interest in this one. We’ll see how Kurt is doing.

     
  4. Dani

    February 8, 2007 at 10:14 pm

    The essential gray t-shirt … Mulder. sigh, heart pitter patters.

     
  5. Kurt

    February 9, 2007 at 6:25 am

    I hear you guys. I made it to page 30 last night and still nothing–no hook, no interest. Sorry I chose a dud for the first one. I leave the next book choice in the hands of the two better looking members of our triumvirate.

     

Leave a Reply

 
