RSS

Lights on, Lights off.

08 Feb

So last week I was sitting on the couch paying bills. I’ve got my laptop open and I’m marvelling at how wonderful technology is. I’m thinking about how nice it is that I can pay all my bills online.
Wait a minute, did I say ALL the bills. Maybe I meant everything except the electric and water bill. No big deal, right? Just two little bills. But wait, I should probably also mention that I am not good about checking our mail. It always ends up in a giant pile. When it seems like it may take over the house then I slog through it. I also should mention that the water bill is on some bizarre billing schedule where we only get a bill like every quarter. I never remember to read the meter and then they estimate the amount. Inevitably I pay the bill, check the meter, then discover that they’ve been estimating way too high and now we have a credit with them. The electric bill however comes once a month.

I totally missed the electric bill last month. Apparently I also missed the first “notice” about it because when I opened the new bill it contained a final termination notice. Yeah, they were going to turn our electric off. I suck.

I paid the bill, we’re no longer deadbeats and the lights didn’t even flicker. I still suck. I can’t wait for Brian to have a job again and then we’ll no longer be living off the loan.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2007 in stupidity

 

3 responses to “Lights on, Lights off.

  1. Kellie

    February 8, 2007 at 10:40 am

    You don’t suck. It happens. You’re still cool 🙂

     
  2. Dani

    February 8, 2007 at 2:21 pm

    Thanks Kellie. I just hate when I do stupid things. Even if it happens to all of us sometimes.

     
  3. Kurt

    February 9, 2007 at 6:16 am

    My garbage pickup bill is quarterly and it used to give me the same problems. Every 5-6 months would be a big hassle because they were ready to pull my service for non-payment. Finally they got an automated payment service and my problem got resolved.

    The remaining bills that are problematic are the one or two department store credit cards we have. Since they don’t have a balance all the time, I don’t have them set for autopay and their websites aren’t powerful enough to figure out if there is NO balance, then DON’T make a payment. If it weren’t for those two cards then EVERY bill would be paid automatically. It’s a great thing.

    So, you don’t suck because you missed something that doesn’t follow the same pattern as the others.

     

Leave a Reply

 
