RSS

Trip to the Crackhouse

03 Feb

Alright I went to Target on Wednesday to look for a toy box. (I blame Kellie for this.) I wandered around for a bit. I bought an outfit for Jeffrey.  I found clear plastic bins for Jeffrey’s clothes (woo hoo). I found a stool that I think will work for his 90/90 sit with the physical therapist.  I even found a table with markers in it that Jeffrey can use to draw. What I couldn’t find was a toy bin.  Who knew these were so difficult to find?  I searched in vain for a Target person to help me when I finally found a group of them having a meeting at one of the endcaps.  This is the conversation.

Me: Hi. I’m trying to find a children’s toy bin?

Target Man: I have no idea where those would be.   (Turns around and ignores me)

Me: (Waits a moment) Excuse me, would anyone else know where they might be?

Target Man: (Turns and taps another Target Man on the arm) She’s looking for toy bins.

Target Man #2: Um, I think all we have are baskets.

Me: Super. Where are they?

Target Man #2: (Points down the aisle) They’re by the endcap with the stools on them. (Turns back to me as apparently the conversation is finished.)

End result – We have Jeffrey’s toys in one of the storage bins I bought.

I walked down to the aisle he indicated and found fabric bins.  What the hell? I came to Target because TWO people I know told me they bought their toy bins. I want the one that stands up and you put the colored baskets on the shelves. That way you can see what everything is and don’t have to dig through it.

I couldn’t believe how unhelpful the Target people were. Plus I still bought a ton of stuff.  Truth be told I don’t know where I would have put the toy bin had I found it because the cart was already full.  The storage bin will do for now, but darn it I vow to find the toy bin I want!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2007 in Jeffrey

 

5 responses to “Trip to the Crackhouse

  1. Kellie

    February 3, 2007 at 9:23 pm

    Don’t blame me 🙂

    Sorry your Target peeps are a buncha morons. They must not have had their daily “The guest should be treated like royalty” speech given to them before their shift?

    I got Morgan’s toy box at Babies R Us. But, it’s a second toy box and not being used for toys. Don’t get me started on that right now.

    I know which bins you’re talking about. I THINK the Target closest to me has what you want. I can check if you’d like me to.

     
  2. Kurt

    February 3, 2007 at 11:42 pm

    That’s some pretty bad service. You’re supposed to ALWAYS walk the customer to the item. At least that’s the lesson I learned working for Barnes & Noble. Kinda wish you had a hidden cam and could submit the video to Target headquarters, eh?

     
  3. Kelly M.

    February 4, 2007 at 8:36 am

    Hmm, you a better person than I am. I for sure would have said something to those “customer service people!” It probably wouldn’t have been pretty. I also probably would have left the store leaving the FULL cart behind! I’m a true believe in customer service..and if I don’t get it..I leave! Unfortunately, in todays’ world this is becoming more and more popular for the associates to act like this …and the management are clueless..and most of the time…they don’t care either and act the same way! Just ask Kellie about my Targeting experience with my credit card…oohh was not pretty and the manager a COMPLETE moron!!

     
  4. Lisa Stein

    February 5, 2007 at 9:25 am

    Actually- I think the bins you are looking for are over in the children’s bedding and furnitute. Thats where I bought Nathan’s and Parker’s. They have them in pastel for girls and primary colors for boys. Sorry you had such a yucky experience. I still take Target over Walmart anyday!

     
  5. Dani

    February 5, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    I’ll have to look again. I think I may try the Target in Henrietta instead of Greece. Maybe the new location will help. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
