RSS

Music for the Soul

02 Feb

I find that I have some very diverse interests in music and I find it interesting that I associate certain groups or genres to people I’ve had relationships with during my life.  I don’t know if anyone else is like this but I find that I’ve discovered very little myself. Most of my likes have come from the influence of others.

My mother gave me country music and a great love for Johnny Cash. She showed me that it didn’t have to be technically great to want to listen to it. My father gave me jazz and classical and the Blues! Together they taught me that the 50’s and 60’s gave us some fantastic groups that deserve to be remembered. I mourn the loss of this time period from the airwaves. Rochester no longer has an “oldies” station and I miss it. Marino and my high school choir teacher Mrs. Zundel gave me a love for musicals and opera. I went to my first opera in high school and find it astounding what beauty can come from a person’s voice.

My first love in school gave me Green Day and an introduction to Alternative music. I discovered Nirvana and grunge. I was amazed by this angry messy sort of sound. It matched something dark and upsetting inside me and gave an outlet for those feelings. Soon after, my former fiance Mark helped me discover Smashing Pumpkins, Harry Connick Jr., and The Bloodhound Gang. Three entirely different sounds but all equally compelling. Connick is just awaesome, especially his Louisiana funk albums.

I will always think of Chelle when I hear The Dance by Garth Brooks. It reminds me of us. Sitting on her bed two young girls, each with too many problems, singing our sorrows away.

In college Mary introduced me to Classic Rock, took me to see Jethro Tull and gave me the list of “Essential Music.” The list included Rush, Pink Floyd, Tom Petty and Peter Gabriel to name a few.

Zachary showed me the beauty of CJ Chenier and Zydeco. He also showed me the talent of Frank Zappa. Every time I hear either, I think of the brightness of his soul and what a joy he was to be around.

Brian gave me Ben Folds, Dave Matthews and an appreciation for all things acoustic or acapella. He taught me to listen to the message of a song. Our wedding song was I’ll Back You Up by Dave Matthews Band. He took me to see Ani Difranco for my birthday a few months after we met and showed me how varied his tastes are.

So, I set the ipod on shuffle and I think of all of my friends past and present with each song that goes by. I hope that maybe I’ve given some music to someone else during my time and that I keep discovering new as I grow. Maybe it comes from being the child of a musician but music just colors my life. I identify myself with songs and feel a great respect for anyone who can create them.

When I was in college I took a music appreciation class. At the start of each class our professor would read us a definition of music. Every day was different sometimes the definitions were technical, sometimes spiritual. For our final he asked us to write our definition. I gave him a poem that I had written about it combining the soul searching aspects with the technicalities. I’m glad I was given the opportunity to think about it.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2007 in Friendly Blogs, General

 

4 responses to “Music for the Soul

  1. Jen Brugger

    February 2, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    You are not the only one who can “remember when” when listening to songs or standing somewhere you have been before. I got the Monkees and Elvis from my mom and Uncle and Puddle of Mud and other various artists from Michael along with Country.

    It’s amazing how a song or a smell can bring you back to another place and time and flood you with such strong memories of your past. It’s what makes us who we are.

     
  2. Kelly M.

    February 2, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    I agree with both you and Jen! It’s an awesome feeling when a song comes on and your mind literally “goes back in time”. I also have many songs on my Ipod that remind me of different times and people in my life!!

     
  3. Kurt

    February 3, 2007 at 1:58 am

    Songs that mean a lot to me and make me ‘go back in time’…

    Smells Like Teen Spirit by Nirvana (heard it for the very FIRST time in a loud dance club in Albany. It was playing on 11 and it was something I never heard before and was in awe of it)

    The Stranger by The Cure (Was reading Camus’ The Stranger in the library in college when this came over my Walkman headphones from the campus station. Eerie coincidence. Started my love for The Cure.)

    Never Tear us Apart by INXS (On the loop tape at Waterfun Theme Park. Played over and over. But never tired of it. I’d lipsynch overly dramatically with wild arm gestures and my friend far away on another water slide would see me and laugh each time)

    Huh, I should make my own post about this… Good idea, Dani!

     
  4. Kurt

    February 3, 2007 at 1:59 am

    Oops. I meant “Killing an Arab” by The Cure. Not “The Stranger” by The Cure. It’s late.

     

Leave a Reply

 
