RSS

Senseless

30 Jan

Brian bought me an ipod for Christmas. He wanted to give me a Zen but I was dragged down by the marketing of Apple. I love my ipod, but I fear that I am not living up to the expectations of my husband. I feel badly about this but lets face it, I am not as technically inclined as Brian. He thinks I should carry it with me to work, to the gym, in the car etc.  I think that if I carry it everywhere I will stop interacting with people. For instance, I go to the gym with Angela. We talk, I like the interaction and feel that the ipod would be intrusive. He also wishes for me to organize it and use it more efficiently.  I would also love to do this, but it takes time.  Why does everything take so much time? Is it bad that I would rather sit down and write a post than organize my ipod playlist? I do need to figure it out though because it is strange if you have it on random shuffle.  You may listen to Charlie Parker on the first track and Frank Zappa on the second.  It doesn’t make any sense.

Speaking of making no sense, I have no idea where this post is going.  I suppose I just feel bad that Brian has these grand expectations of me and then I let him down. I try, perhaps in the future I’ll become a technology maven and he will bow down to my superior intellect. I won’t hold my breath.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2007 in Brian

 

5 responses to “Senseless

  1. Kellie

    January 30, 2007 at 10:19 am

    He’d be severely disappointed in me. I think Kurt may wonder sometimes how much of a complete idiot I am when it comes to computers and stuff. He’s my “Help Desk” 🙂

     
  2. Happy Working Mom

    January 30, 2007 at 1:52 pm

    My husband is the same way!!! He got me my iPod and I don’t use it nearly as much as he thinks I should. My comeback is that I never really wanted it…but I do appreciate it, just not as much as he wants me to 🙂

     
  3. kurthiggins

    January 30, 2007 at 5:12 pm

    Technology should be easy. Period. Be glad you’re not using Windows Media Player with a Zen (or possibly even WinAmp no offense, Bri). iTunes is a easy as it gets. So read this page and if you only do ONE THING to organize, learn about SMART PLAYLISTS.

    Don’t feel badly about just wanting to do one thing on your computer and not bothering with something else. I do that all the time. When I’m home, I find I don’t want to troubleshoot/build/research/whatever my computer(s). I just want them to work so I can enjoy whatever I’d rather be doing. Sure I’ll spend more time tweaking something to get it to work better and faster for me in the long run, but the tipping point for me comes faster and faster the more I deal with stupid computers at work and home.

    That’s why I’ve drifted towards Macs in recent years. Their tagline “It just works” is true. And I don’t bend myself out of shape trying to do something on it that it wasn’t intended to do.

    I’m rambling. Damn you, Kellie!

    The social aspect of wearing earphones? I TOTALLY agree with you, Dani. I was waiting in lines during xmas and actually took off my headphones because I wanted to strike up a conversation with the family behind me. We didn’t bond or anything, but spending 30 minutes in line together warrants at least a little chit-chat. And it made the time go by faster. My iPod wouldn’t have helped that way. It would have simply occupied the time. I don’t use mine as much as I thought I would. 90% of its use now is with the Nike+ gadget for recording my runs.

    Alright, I guess I’m done. (Coulda made my own post out of this…)

     
  4. Kelly M.

    January 30, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    Oh..see I’m the complete opposite! I love new things and love to try to figure them out! I had bought a toshiba mp3 player…last Feb. – it was 10gb…well I was jealous because everyone around me had the ipod nano..so yup..I went out and got one!! I absolutely love it..and yes *Sadly* I do carry it in my purse! I have the car attatchment..which I highly recommend…what is a radio again?? You don’t need it with the ipod!!

    I do agree that random..can be weird! …If you husband..wants you to use it…hmm tell him to organize you list..of course that is if you have the same taste in music!! GOOD LUCK!

     
  5. That Chick Over There

    January 31, 2007 at 9:49 am

    I have the shuffle myself and it is really random, but I love it. I don’t have a gym buddy so it really helps when I’m exercising to have some music to move to. I noticed I tend to work harder when I have music on.

    I also listen to mine at work. It drowns out the harpiness of others. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
