RSS

What’s on the Shelf

19 Jan

I’ve decided to have a regularly occurring “feature” here on the phone mom blog.  What’s on my bookshelf.  I figure this will help me keep track of what I am currently reading as well as blab about some books.   

Lets start out with the serious stuff:  The Dante Club by Matthew Pearl. I am reading this as part of an email book group with Kurt and Kellie.  I’m not too far into it yet so I don’t have any profound thoughts ready.  I haven’t done any serious research into the author yet but I should get to it shortly.

Now, the not so serious stuff: The Isle of Dogs by Patricia Cornwell.  I started reading this because I normally like Patricia Cornwell.  Generally they are a quick read, fast paced and enjoyable.  They’re not spectacular but they pass the time.  This novel is NOT like this.  I’m not even sure if I’ll be able to finish this, it is simply painful. It’s supposed to be Cornwell’s dip into dark humor and by all means she should stick to her day job.  I have yet to find one likable character and I’m just finding it stupid.  I should have left this on the shelf.

Our next contestant is Monster by Jonathan Kellerman.  This book is in the Alex Delaware series. Delaware is a psychologist that helps the police out with certain crimes.  I’ve read a few books from the series and while they are not the most gripping stories on the planet, they are palatable.  I enjoy crime drama and go through spurts where it’s almost all that I read.  Kellerman can be counted on for a decent read. 

Last but not least is One Good Knight by Mercedes Lackey.  I have been a fan of Mercedes Lackey for a long time.  She writes fantasy and I admit to being a bit of a sci-fi/fantasy buff.  She has particularly engaging characters that I feel are well rounded and quite believable.  This book is part of a new series called Tales of the Five Hundred Kingdoms.  They are takeoffs from fairy tales and I think they are quite imaginative.  This book is the second in the series that I have read and I am finding it to be very good.  It’s a fun read, quick and relaxing. 

That’s it for the bookshelf for now.  Enjoy!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2007 in Books

 

3 responses to “What’s on the Shelf

  1. Kellie

    January 19, 2007 at 7:59 pm

    Ahhh….a few future ideas for the book club!! Glad you’re not too far into the one we’re reading as I’ve read maybe 18 pages. I keep meaning to read, but it’s not happening. Maybe if I stopped checking blogs 3 times a day, I’d have more time to read!!

     
  2. Kurt

    January 19, 2007 at 8:38 pm

    Ditto on the ‘not too far into’ bit. If I could only read more than three pages before falling asleep!

    John pointed me to a page on Ain’t It Cool News (can’t find it now, but this is close: http://blogcritics.org/archives/2007/01/18/184100.php ) about George R.R. Martin’s series A Game of Thrones getting picked up by HBO for a multi-season series. He jokingly said, “now you won’t have to read that brick I loaned you.” Brick is right. These suckers are big. A hundred pages in and I’m not hooked yet. Tough to continue…

     
  3. Dani

    January 22, 2007 at 10:52 am

    Kellie -I’m having the same problem. I’m reading too many bogs to get into the book.

    Kurt- Ohh, A Game of Thrones is great. It takes forever to get into it, but once you do it’s really good! I am waiting patiently for the rest of the series to come out in paperback. It’s been so long that I’m not sure I remember what it was about, simply that I enojoyed it.
    D

     

Leave a Reply

 
