RSS

For Better

18 Jan

I have become addicted to the comic For Better or For Worse.  I always read the comics as a kid, but I recently added it to my google homepage and I’m enthralled.  First I became enamoured with the strip fix, this is were they randomly show you old strips.  It was so cool to me to see how Lynn Johnston’s (the cartoonist) drawing has evolved.  The characters are much sharper and real today than they originally were.  Then I found out that it was the cause of some controversy in the early 90’s because one of the characters (a neighbor) realized that he was gay and came out to his family and friends.  The FBorFW web site talks about the negative mail that was received and how some markets pulled the strip because of it. However it was more than balanced by all the positive reviews and letters.  I just think it’s a really good comic.  I enjoy the stories in it and the appeal of a family that makes mistakes but always tries their best.  I guess now that I’m a wife and a mom, it appeals to me more and more.  I encourage you to check out the strip and the website.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2007 in General

 

3 responses to “For Better

  1. Kellie

    January 18, 2007 at 5:43 pm

    At one point, about 5 years ago, I was an avid fan of FBorW. I remember reading it when I was 12 and not totally “getting” it all the time, but it became one of my favorite comics. Now and then, I’ll see it in a paper and read it, but I’ve missed so much that I am LOST!! Guess I’ll be going to the website and getting caught up 🙂 Thanks!!

     
  2. MaryP

    January 21, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    I’ve bloglined the website and put it in my Daily Read folder. I’ve been reading it since the early 80’s, when Michael was a little boy and Elizabeth a baby. Fun.

    Did you hear Lynne Johnson is going into semi-retirement shortly? The strip is going to use a format of flashbacks, so lots of old strips will be re-used. There will be some keeping up with the present, mostly through Michael, AND (this part I don’t like one bit) the characters will *stop aging*!! Boo.

    And I ssssoooo want Elizabeth to get together with Anthony. Paul played around on her; Warren is manipulative; but Anthony is a truly good man, who will always love her.

    Oooo. Such a groupie I am!

     
  3. Dani

    January 22, 2007 at 10:51 pm

    I don’t know what I’m going to do without continuing storyline. I want to know what’s going to happen with Dee and Michael’s house. I agree about Elizabeth, Anthony is the best man of the lot.
    Good to know there are other groupies out there!

     

Leave a Reply

 
